The Scoggins Report: August 2013 Spec Market Roundup

The Scoggins Report
by Jason Scoggins & Landon Rohwedder
September 3, 2013

August 2013
Spec Market Roundup

Considering how little overall activity there was in the Spec Market last month (see the grid below, and the weekly breakdown below that), August’s numbers ended up fairly solid, thanks primarily to the pace of the first half of the month. Here are the key take-aways, as far as we’re concerned:

  • Two studios bought two specs each last month: CBS Films, which bought its 2nd and 3rd of the year, and Universal, which picked up its 4th and 5th.
  • Two agencies sold two specs each as well:  CAA, which sold its 6th and 7th so far in 2013, and UTA, which extended its first place lead by setting up its 15th and 16th.

We’re taking a bye week next week to sync up with the calendar, but we’ll be tracking the market as usual over at SpecScout.com. Happy New Year, Hollywood.

 

Year-Over-Year Breakdown

August 2013

2012

2011

2010

2009

 New Specs

13

18

13

11

8

 Specs Sold1

6

13

5

2

5

 Percent Sold2

42%

44%

23%

9%

38%

 Genres Sold

1 Action

2 Comedy

1 Sci-fi

2 Thriller

4 Comedy

2 Drama

3 Horror

1 Sci-fi

3 Thriller

2 Action

1 Sci-fi

2 Thriller

1 Action/Adventure

1 Thriller

1 Action/Adventure

3 Comedy

            1 Total sales in August                2 Sales percentage of scripts that came out and sold in August

Genre Breakdown

 Genre

Total

Sold

% Sold

 Action/Adventure

3

0+1

 Comedy

2

2

100%

 Drama

2

0

 Horror

1

0

 Sci-fi

1

1

100%

 Thriller

4

2

50%

 

The above +‘s indicate scripts that sold in those genres last month but went to market previously.  The percentage reflects just those that came out and sold in August.

 

Weekly Activity Breakdown

Week of July 29:

  • 2 new specs hit the tracking boards (1 in July, 1 in August), neither of which have sold
  • 3 additional spec sales were announced:
    • Man of War (7/31)
    • South China Sea (7/30)
    • The Feud (7/31)

Week of August 5:

  • 1 new spec hit the tracking boards, which has not sold yet
  • 2 additional spec sales were announced:
  • Rose (8/5)
  • Panopticon (8/8 – originally went out May 2007)

Week of August 12:

  • 3 new specs hit the boards, none of which have yet sold
  • 2 additional spec sales were announced:
    • Soldiers of the Sun (8/14)
    • Other People’s Love Letters (8/15)

Week of August 19:

  • 1 new spec hit the tracking boards, and has not yet sold

Week of August 26:

  • 1 new spec hit the tracking boards, which has not sold
  • 2 additional spec sales were announced:
    • Split (8/26)
    • Untitled Amy Schumer Comedy (8/26)

 

Spec Sales (alphabetical by title)

Project titles in the report are now linked to the corresponding Spec Scout page, so you can click to see which of the below we’ve covered and scored there.

 

OTHER PEOPLE’S LOVE LETTERS

Writer:  Bethany Ashton Wolf (“Little Chenier”)

RepsAPA (Debbie Deuble, Sheryl Peterson) and Magnet Management (Zach Tann)

BuyerCBS Films

Genre:  Romantic comedy

AttachmentsTom Bezucha is attached to direct.  Laurence Mark will produce through his eponymous production company with Jonathan ShukatTamara Chestna and Eric Bromberg will executive produce.

NotesMark Ross and Winnie Kemp will oversee for CBS Films.

Logline:  In the vein of “Love, Actually.”  Follows the intertwining story lines of four romances, each of which are at a crossroads.

PANOPTICON

Writer:  Craig Rosenberg (“The Uninvited”)

RepsUTA (Julien Thuan) and Anonymous Content (Jeff Okin)

BuyerGood Universe

Genre:  Action thriller

AttachmentsTarsem Singh is attached to direct. Andrew Lazar will produce through his Mad Chance. Rosenberg will executive produce with Good Universe’s Nathan Kahane and Joe Drake.

NotesNicole Brown will supervise for Good Universe.  Project was previously set up at Lionsgate, with Di Bonaventura producing.

Logline:  An ordinary man receives a package that contains a video of himself that tells him the world is about to end and only he can stop it.

 

ROSE

Writer:  Nathaniel Halpern (AMC’s “The Killing”)

RepsCAA (JP Evans, Jacqueline Sacerio)

BuyerFocus Features

Genre:  Thriller

AttachmentsImageMover’s Robert Zemeckis and Jack Rapke will produce.

NotesChristopher Kopp will oversee for Focus.

Logline:  A woman who volunteers to physically fashion herself after another woman loses all sense of identity and begins to covet the other woman’s life.

 

SOLDIERS OF THE SUN

Writers:  Arash Amel (“Grace of Monaco”)

RepsCAA (Matt Rosen)

BuyerUniversal Pictures

Genre:  Sci-fi action

AttachmentsOne Race Productions’ Vin Diesel and Samantha Vincent will produce with Lorenzo di Bonaventura through his eponymous production company.

NotesJeff Kirschenbaum and Jay Polidoro will oversee for Universal.

Logline:  Set in a post-apocalyptic future, centers on a team of soldiers searching for a fabled city of gold while on a tour of duty in Mexico, liberating it from an alien race known as Orcs.

 

SPLIT

Writer:  Adam Gierasch & Jace Anderson (“Schism”)

RepsGersh (Lee Keele) and Anvil Entertainment (Mike De Trana)

BuyerCBS Films

Genre:  Supernatural thriller

NotesRyan Conroy will oversee for CBS Films.

Logline:  A young woman who’s never known her real family discovers she has an identical sister and that they both have powerful abilities that a mysterious force will do anything to acquire.

 

UNTITLED AMY SCHUMER COMEDY

Writer:  Amy Schumer (Comedy Central’s “Inside Amy Schumer”)

RepsUTA (Josh Katz) and Mosaic (Jimmy Miller)

BuyersUniversal Pictures

Genre:  Comedy

AttachmentsJudd Apatow will produce.

Notes:  Apatow is overseeing a new draft and may have a hand in writing directly.

Logline:  TBD.

 

About The Scoggins Report:

The Scoggins Report is a terribly unscientific analysis of the feature film development business based on information assembled from a variety of public and non-public sources.  The numbers in the reports are by no means official statistics.  Caveat emptor.

Check out the newsletter’s beautiful new home on SpecScout.com.

COMMENT